Business Subject Guide
Finance & Investment
Bonds
Bond Markets.com <http://www.bondmarkets.com/>
This website sponsored by the Bond Markets Association has links to a variety of information about bonds including statistics, policy, news, and additional websites.
Bonds Online <http://www.bonds-online.com/>
Aimed at the individual investor, provides descriptive data, analyses, and pricing information about bonds.
Corporate Information
(See also Business Subject Guide--U.S. Companies)
EDGAR Database of Corporate Information <http://www.sec.gov/edgarhp.htm>
The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission's collection of corporate financial statements as filed by U.S. public corporations beginning in 1994/96. No annual shareholder reports , but 10K, 10Q, and many other financial disclosure documents are included with a searchable index of the full text of the documents.
International directory of company histories. Ref HD2721.D36
Information about the historical development of the world's most important companies. Continuously updated with new volumes.
LexisNexis Academic (Belmont subscription database)
Click Business in the list of links of the left side of the page. There are several options for searching for company information.
Proquest (Belmont subscription database)
From the drop-down menu you can choose to search by Comp./Org, Product Name, NAICS code, and more. Results may include Hoover's Reports.
Value Line Investment Survey
a comprehensive source of information on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy. Has 3 parts:
The Ratings & Reports section contains one-page reports on approximately 1,700 companies and more than 90 industries. Each company report contains, among other things, Value Line's Timeliness, Safety, and Technical ranks, financial and stock price forecasts for the coming 3 to 5 years, an analyst's written commentary, and much more. For detailed information, please click on EDUCATION and go to either "How to Invest in Common Stocks" or the "Quick Study Guide."
The Summary & Index contains an index of all stocks in the publication as well as many up-to-date statistics to keep investors informed about the latest company results. It also contains a variety of stock "screens" designed to help investors identify companies with various characteristics.
The Selection & Opinion section contains Value Line's latest economic and stock market forecasts, one-page write-ups of interesting and attractive stocks, model portfolios, and financial and stock market statistics
Exchanges
World Federation of Exchanges <http://www.world-exchanges.org/>
An international directory of stock exchanges, members as well as affiliates, with contact information, website links, hours of trading, securities traded, etc. Also includes full-text of overall market statistics and other federation publications.
New York Stock Exchange <http://www.nyse.com/>
American Stock Exchange <http://www.amex.com/>
NASDAQ Market <http://www.nasdaq.com/>
Financial News
Bloomberg.com <http://www.bloomberg.com/>
Business headlines and news plus current market quotes from Bloomberg, the business news service.
CNN Money <http://cnnfn.cnn.com/>
From CNN and Money magazine, offers the day's top business headlines and stories, market news, CNNfn program schedules, and links to related information on the web.
Financial Times <http://news.ft.com/home/us/>
Follow world business news and track global stock prices and markets in this international business newspaper.
Investor's Business Daily <http://www.investors.com/>
Top industry news source with both articles and data. Some available free on website, but most available only to subscribers. Belmont users have access to additional free IBD articles through the LexisNexis Academic database in the "Business News" category.
USA Today/Money News <http://www.usatoday.com/money/front.htm>
Headlines, current stock quotes, and top business stories of the day.
Wall Street Journal
America's leading business newspaper. Belmont users have access to issues from 1984 to the present in ABI/INFORM (Proquest)
Internet Gateways for Finance
Finance Site List <http://www.cob.ohio-state.edu/fin/journal/jofsites.htm>
From Ohio State University, a comprehensive gateway site for finance information on the web for academic researchers, students, and investors.
Financial Data Finder <http://www.cob.ohio-state.edu/cgi-bin/DB_Search/db_search.cgi?setup_file=finance.setup.cgi>
Links to financial data from U.S. and foreign stock exchanges and the U.S. government; includes downloadable data sets.
Internet Gateways for Investment
Quote.com <http://finance.lycos.com/>
Financial gateway with information on stocks, options, IPOs, bonds, money markets, etc.
SuperStar Investor <http://www.superstarinvestor.com/directory.html>
Claims 20,000 links to investor information, along with descriptive summaries of each site. Arranged in over 30 categories, the top sites in each are indicated.
Wall-Street.com <http://www.wall-street.com/>
Has links to publicly traded companies with financial data online; financial magazines, newspapers and newsletters; stock prices, mutual funds, and futures; banking, lending, and credit institutions; stock exchanges and financial services.
Investment Advisory Services
Barron's <http://www.barrons.com/> Also, current issues in print in the Reference room.
Barron's Online includes weekly price data for stocks traded on the New York, American, and Nasdaq markets, plus mutual fund data. Online access to articles through Barron's website is available only to subscribers. Belmont users have online access to the full text of Barron's through Accounting & Tax (Proquest).
Morningstar (Belmont subscription database)
From a well-known name in mutual fund analysis, this site contains rating reports and quotes for 2000 mutual funds and 1500 stocks. For each fund, the fund objective and performance are reviewed, plus data on portfolio composition. Analysis of funds and stocks by Morningstar analysts is also available.
Value Line Investment Survey
a comprehensive source of information on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy. Has 3 parts:
The Ratings & Reports section contains one-page reports on approximately 1,700 companies and more than 90 industries. Each company report contains, among other things, Value Line's Timeliness, Safety, and Technical ranks, financial and stock price forecasts for the coming 3 to 5 years, an analyst's written commentary, and much more. For detailed information, please click on EDUCATION and go to either "How to Invest in Common Stocks" or the "Quick Study Guide."
The Summary & Index contains an index of all stocks in the publication as well as many up-to-date statistics to keep investors informed about the latest company results. It also contains a variety of stock "screens" designed to help investors identify companies with various characteristics.
The Selection & Opinion section contains Value Line's latest economic and stock market forecasts, one-page write-ups of interesting and attractive stocks, model portfolios, and financial and stock market statistics
Zachs Research Reports (Belmont subscription database)
Investment information and stock tracking.
Money & Banking
Banking on the WWW <http://www.gwdg.de/%7Eifbg/banking.html>
A gateway site with links to banks around the world, electronic banking, academic research on banking, banking law, currencies and currency exchanges, and stock markets.
Bankrate.com <http://www.bankrate.com/brm/>
Provides current rates for mortgages, home loans, savings, credit cards, and checking accounts and tracks ATM fees and online banking fees. All are updated daily. Also has news about the banking and real estate industries.
The Current Value of Old Money <http://www.ex.ac.uk/%7ERDavies/arian/current/howmuch.html>
Provides links to resources that help answer the question, "How much would a specified amount of money at a certain period of time be worth today?" The links include information on purchasing power, inflation, prices, cost of living, and historical exchange rates.
FDIC ID (Institution Directory) System <http://www3.fdic.gov/idasp/>
A database with demographic data and financial profiles of FDIC-insured depository institutions as derived from reports filed with federal regulators. Information includes balance sheet, income, and loan portfolio/asset quality. Data is available beginning with December 1993.
Mutual Funds
ICI Mutual Fund Connection <http://www.ici.org/>
From the Investment Company Institute, a trade association representing the industry, a primary source of statistical information on mutual funds. Monthly and weekly releases cover trends in stock, bond, hybrid, closed-end, and money market funds. Also has data on fund shareholders and information about legislation and regulation.
Morningstar (Belmont subscription database)
From a well-known name in mutual fund analysis, this site contains rating reports and quotes for 2000 mutual funds and 1500 stocks. For each fund, the fund objective and performance are reviewed, plus data on portfolio composition. Analysis of funds and stocks by Morningstar analysts is also available.
Other Securities (ADRs, IPOs, DRIPs)
ADR.com <http://www.adr.com/>
From J.P. Morgan, an overview of the American Depository Receipts (ADR) market with news, data, and research resources.
Depository Receipts <http://www.adrbny.com/>
A comprehensive source of information on ADRs--U.S. securities that represent a non-U.S. company's securities trading publicly on a U.S. exchange.
DRIP Central <http://www.dripcentral.com/>
Offers a collection of links, articles, tutorials, and other resources on Dividend Re-Investment Plans (DRIPs) from across the Web.
IPO Central <http://www.hoovers.com/global/ipoc/>
For anyone interested in initial public offerings (IPOs) this web site has filings, prices, news, statistics, and a guide for novices to this kind of investment opportunity
IPO Data Systems <http://www.ipodata.com/>
Provides free information on the current year's IPOs, information on past years' offerings is available by subscription. Data generally includes offering information, abbreviated income statement and balance sheet. Also has links to other sites with IPO information.
Stock Charts
ProphetFinance.com <http://www.prophetfinance.com/charts/sc.asp>
Use the Snap Charts feature to draw charts for periods of 1 day to all available data (about 1970 to date) using bars, lines, area, or percents and utilizing a number of special features.
StockCharts.com <http://stockcharts.com/charts/index.html>
Free access to various charting tools for stock prices in time periods ranging from a few minutes to several years and in several styles and colors.
Stock Prices
BigCharts <http://www.bigcharts.com/historical/>
Has historical daily stock prices--high, low, opening, and closing--from 1970 to date, plus price charts. Search by ticker symbol only. Other current and historical stock price data also found here.
New York Stock Exchange <http://www.nyse.com/>
American Stock Exchange <http://www.amex.com/>
NASDAQ Market <http://www.nasdaq.com/>
Locating Articles
ABI/Inform (ProQuest) (Belmont subscription database)
Index to and some full-text of selected journal and magazine articles in the field of business.
Business File ASAP (TEL) (Belmont subscription database)
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Some full-text available.
Business File International (TEL) (Belmont subscription database)
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Some full-text available.
LexisNexis Academic (Belmont subscription database)
Search both the News and the Business sections of this database for the full text of articles from a variety of sources about U.S. corporations.
