Bunch Library Home
Belmont University HomepageConnect to BICAsk for help
 
Search CUB Cat Reference Library Services Subject guides About the Library
Reference
Special Collections

History Subject Guide

African American history Primary Sources
Book Reviews Tennessee History
Comprehensive Sites United States Civil War
Databases Women's History
LC Call Numbers  

 

 

African American History

The African American Mosaic (Library of Congress) Resource guide to the study of Black history and culture in the collections of the Library of Congress. Includes photographs and excerpts of ex-slave narratives.

American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology Ex-slave interviews conducted by the WPA in the 1930s. Includes photographs.

Civil Rights Digital Library (Unv of Georgia)

Civil Rights in Mississippi digital archive

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History  Ref E 185 .E54 1996

Internet Resources for Students of African American History & Culture from Rutgers University

 

Book Reviews

H-Net reviews Scholarly review journal for the Humanities and Social Sciences
See the book review user guide for more!

 

Comprehensive Sites

Internet History Sourcebook Project collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts. Especially useful for Ancient or Medieval history.

Librarians' Index to the Internet: History

Voice of the Shuttle from the University of California, Santa Barbara, an excellent collection of websites for history in all areas.

WWW Virtual Library - History

 

Databases


Dissertations & Theses (Proquest)
Encyclopedia Americana
Expanded Academic ASAP
Historical Maps (David Rumsey Collection)
In the First Person
Medieval Sources Online
NetLibrary (eBook collection)
JSTOR
Oxford Reference Online
Project Muse
Proquest
Proquest Historical Newspapers (New York Times)


LC Call Numbers

D--History (General) and history of Europe
E--History: America
F--History: America

 

Primary Sources & Archival Sites


American Civil War Homepage Links to information on nearly every conceivable fact about the war, from scholarly resources to commercial sites, personal websites, weblogs, message board, and roundtables dedicated to discussion of the conflict

American Memory Project: Library of Congress Ongoing project to digitize the primary source material documenting the history and cultural development of the United States.

AwesomeStories.com links its story content to hundreds of thousands of the world's best on-line primary sources. See maps, pictures, artifacts, manuscripts and documents. Sign in as an academic member. Username and password: bu28

EuroDocs: primary historical documents from Western Europe

Making of America a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

National Archives & Records Administration Online guide to the collections of the National Archives.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery provides access to over 480,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library

Prints and photographs online catalog online access to 65 percent of photographs that the Library of Congress has collected for more than 100 years.

Using Primary Sources on the Web from the American Library Association

 

Tennessee History

Nashville & Tennessee History links from the Nashville Public Library

Volunteer Voices Digital collection of Tennessee history

Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture
Tennessee History: a resource guide
Tennessee Civil War Sourcebook

Tennessee State Library & Archives Information on the manuscript and image collections.

Women in Tennessee History Bibliography of books, theses, articles and manuscripts as well as links to other pertinent sites.

 

United States Civil War

The American Civil War Links to the most useful electronic files about the Civil War. Developed and maintained at UTK.

The United States Civil War Center (Louisiana State University) includes links to Civil War museums and other websites. Check out the Online Exhibitions and Resources.

 

Women's History

American Women's History: a research guide

Other Women's Voices full text and excerpts of works by over 125 women from Europe, Asia, and the Middle East writing from 2200 BCE to 1700.

Women's Studies Section of the Association of College & Research Libraries

Working Women, 1800-1930 A digital collection from Harvard University that focuses on "women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections."

Uncovering Women's History in Archival Collections A guide to WWW pages of archives, libraries, and other repositories that have primary source materials by or about women.


Belmont University
Lila D. Bunch Library
1900 Belmont Blvd.
(615) 460-6782