Bunch Library Home
Belmont University HomepageConnect to BICAsk for help
 
Search CUB Cat Reference Library Services Subject guides About the Library
Reference
Special Collections
 

Music Subject Guide

How to find music using CUB Cat Find sound recordings, music scores, and more using the library's online catalog.

Databases

Classical Music Library
Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest)
DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music)

Freehand Music Library (sheet music)
Grove's Music Online
IIMP (International Index to Music Periodicals)
JSTOR

Music in Print
Musical America International Directory of the Performing Arts
NAXOS Music Library (Classical)
NAXOS Music Library (Jazz)

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Smithsonian Global Sound

 

Selected Reference Works

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians   Ref ML105 .B16 2001
Encyclopedia of Musical Theatre   Ref ML102.M88 G3 2001
Encyclopedia of Popular Music   Ref ML102.P66 V57 2002
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (also online)   Ref ML100 .N48 2001
New Grove Dictionary of Opera (also online)   Ref ML102.O6 N5 1992
New Harvard Dictionary of Music  Ref ML100 .A64 2003

LC Call Number

M--Music

Selected Websites

Black Grooves
A music review site hosted by the Archives of African American Music & Culture (AAAMC) at Indiana University. It has updates on interesting new CD releases and quality reissues in all genres-including gospel, blues, jazz, funk, soul, and hip-hop-as well as classical music composed or performed by black artists. Includes reviews of new discs and DVDs, with an occasional book or news item thrown in for good measure.

Berklee College of Music Lead Sheet Index
This database indexes the contents of lead sheets and fake books at the Stan Getz Library in the Berklee College of Music , but is useful for locating songs in Belmont's collection, too. After you find your song, go to CubCat and type the name of the book it's in to see if we own it. If it's in Media Reserves (located in the Listening Viewing Center, 3rd floor) it can be used in-house for two hours.  Others may be checked out.

Country Music Foundation Oral History Collection
A part of the CMF Frist Library and Archive, this portal to their catalog of interviews with music business personnel includes policies for using them on-site as well as providing a searchable subject index.

Lied & Art Song Text Page

Library of Congress American Memory / Music Collections

Indiana University Music Library

Seventh String Fake Book Index
This database indexes the songs in numerous fake books. Type in the name of a song to see which book it's in. Then go to our library catalog, CubCat, and type the name of the book to see if we own it and where we keep it (location). If it's in Media Reserves (located in the Listening Viewing Center, 3rd floor) it can be used in-house for two hours.  Others may be checked out.

 

 

Belmont University
Lila D. Bunch Library
1900 Belmont Blvd.
(615) 460-6782