Bunch Library Home
Belmont University HomepageConnect to BICAsk for help
 
Search CUB Cat Reference Library Services Subject guides About the Library
Reference
Special Collections
 

Nursing Subject Guide

Can't find what you need?
Request it through ILLiad

Databases

 
CINAHL Nursing & Allied Health Index
Cochrane Library
Dissertations & Theses (Proquest)
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
Health Reference Center Academic (TEL)
National Guideline Clearinghouse
Online Journal of Issues in Nursing (OJIN)
Ovid (choose Your Journals@Ovid for the full text Nursing Collection or Medline)
ProQuest Nursing Journals
PubMed
PubMed Central
Registry of Nursing Research
Science Direct

 

Bunch Library Training Tutorials

ProQuest Tutorial 5 minutes

CINAHL Tutorial 10 minutes

 

Textbooks and Reference Books

STAT-Ref Nursing

STAT-Ref Medical

Oxford Reference Online - Medicine

Gale Virtual Reference Library

 

LC Call Numbers

R--Medicine
RT--Nursing

Selected Websites

MedLine Plus
Designed for consumers, but also useful for health professionals. Information from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health are emphasized, but selected non-governmental resources are included.

Health Information Tennessee official State of Tennessee data for births, deaths, population, nursing home and hospital facilities, featuring Data Query - that can provide users with customized tables, graphic bar or pie charts, area plots and trends from the Tennessee Department of Health

HealthWeb A searchable, peer-reviewed directory of Internet health resources created by medical librarians.

Introduction to MeSH from the National Library of Medicine

Medical Images on the Web

Merck Manual of Diagnosis & Therapy A classic general medical textbook available fulltext on the web. 17th ed.

National Library of Medicine

National Center for Health Statistics The nation's principal health statistics agency. Provides data on "vital events as well as information on health status, lifestyle and exposure to unhealthy influences, the onset and diagnosis of illness and disability, and the use of health care."

Nursing Theories

Scirus A science-specific Internet search engine.

Open Source Websites

Directory of Open Access Journals

FreeMedicalJournals.com

FreeBooksforDoctors.com



Organizations/Career Info

American Academy of Nursing
American Nurses' Association
National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization
National Student Nurses' Association (NSNA)
NSNA-Career Center
Nursing Spectrum: Careers
Sigma Theta Tau (Nursing Honor Society)
Tennessee Nurses' Association

 

Evidence-Based Medicine Tutorials

Introduction to Evidence-based medicine from Duke
Centre for Evidence-based Medicine
EBM: Finding the best clinical literature from the University of Illinois, Chicago
EBM for Nursing from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Belmont University
Lila D. Bunch Library
1900 Belmont Blvd.
(615) 460-6782